Robert Meyers

Meet our team

Robert Meyers

Robert Meyers was appointed to the Shelby County Election Commission in May 2009 by the Tennessee Election Commission. He was first elected by his fellow commissioners as Chairman in May 2011. His history with the Election Commission dates back to 1991, when he worked as an election inspector.
Meyers holds a Bachelor of Science from the University of Tennessee at Martin, a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, and earned his Juris Doctorate from the University of Tennessee College of Law.
He was a Peer Reviewer for “America Votes! A Guide to Modern Election Law and Voting Rights,” 2nd Edition of the 2012 American Bar Association’s Section of State and Local Government Law.
He has practiced law for more than 25 years and is a partner in the Glankler Brown law firm. A veteran litigator, having represented clients before courts and administrative agencies in more than a dozen states, he is certified as a Civil Trial Specialist by the National Board of Trial Attorneys. He is licensed to practice law in Tennessee, Arkansas and the District of Columbia. He is also admitted to practice before the federal district courts in Eastern, Western and Middle Tennessee and Eastern and Western Arkansas, as well as the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, and the U.S. Supreme Court.
Meyers is involved in numerous professional organizations, including the Memphis Bar Association, the Tennessee Bar Association, and is a member of the Federation of Defense and Corporate Counsel. Meyers is a member of the Defense Research Institute’s Employment and Labor Law Committee and is past Chair of the Defense Research Institute’s Civil Rights and Government Tort Liability Committee.
Meyers is a past chairman of the Shelby County Young Republicans, and has been involved in campaigns of Republican candidates seeking local or state offices.
He says he enjoys being a part of the local election process and working with his fellow election commissioners along with full and part-time staff to hold fair, efficient and transparent elections that support the American belief in democracy and the Republic.

Anthony Tate


Norma Lester


Dee Nollner


Linda Phillips

Administrator of Elections

Joe Young

Chief Deputy Administrator of Elections

Steve Stamson


Back To Top